What happens when you lose your angel

My precious little sister, who is a DOG, is dying.  She is a 9 year old beagle and still looks and acts every day like a puppy.   I live with my parents and have lived with her almost her whole life from Lufkin TX to greenville SC.  Lets just say I am not very good at being independent!  However, neither is she.  Sophie has separation anxiety and spends her whole day laying down with me when I am depressed or following me around when I am manic.   Its mostly laying down with me when I am depressed though.

Now we are losing her.  She has urethral cancer and she can barely urinate.  What that means is that she has a malignant tumor in her urethra.  She has only months left.  6 months if we are lucky.

I feel like I am losing my very best of best friends.  You see, she is not a fair weather friend.  and unlike my people friends, she doesnt do stupid things that piss me off.  She is always there to lay in bed with me and even wake me up in the morning.  What am I going to do without her company?  I mean, I just cant imagine a world without her.  I cannot even imagine it.  And I have lost pets before, but Sophie?   This is too soon, this is wrong, this is fundamentally not right.  She is my constant comfort, my bestie, my shoulder to cry on.  What do you do when you lose your angel?

Author: jesseruth84

Trying to figure life out one minute at a time

Leave a Reply

